Monday, August 15, 2011

Globe Tatt Awards Finalists

Aug 15, 2011 - From nearly 500 unique nominations in just two weeks, it is finally down to 50 finalists for the 10 categories of the first ever Globe Tatt Awards

Led by Globe-powered Tattoo, they have paved a new avenue for the growing on-line Pinoy explosion with a series of accolades in celebration of Filipinos who share Tattoo’s fiery passion and who have used that energy to create a strong and unforgettable social media presence.
“We are very pleased and overwhelmed with the public’s response to the first ever Tatt Awards. It was really a challenge to all of us members of the Tatt Council as there are so many commendable entries that are worthy as finalists” shares Tattoo Head of Nomadic Broadband Business Dong Ronquillo.
Representing life without limits, the #1 most preferred broadband, Tattoo, is the perfect brand to celebrate social media strides, with its speedy and affordable broadband hookups that enable myriad online connections among Filipinos in the country and around the world. 

With 10 categories honoring those who made remarkable impact on the local social media landscape, the Tatt Awards searched and have chosen 5 finalists for each of the categories through an innovative process of nominations, screening, and judging.
L-R,T-B: Prolific blogger and entrepreneur Cecile Zamora-Van Straten; Director and Video blogger Kring Elenzano; President of the Internet and Mobile Marketing Association Hans Roxas-Chua; Tattoo Head of Nomadic Broadband Business Dong Ronquillo

Their mastery of words showed wit, humor and grit to the Philippine blogosphere. With their platforms that served as the voice of other, they have finally been recognized. Introducing the Word Slayer nominees: Loi Reyes Landicho of, Gibbs Cadiz of, Lori Baltazar of, Von Bryan Cuerpo of and Juned Sonido of

Moving pictures do not just speak a thousand words, they speak millions. This award is for that one video maker (individual or group) who shook the Pinoy web space with their creations. Tatt Awards’ Video Slinger nominees are Christine Gambito of, Fliptop Battles of, Bekimon of, Mikey Bustos of and Ashley Rivera a.k.a Petra Mahalimuyak of

Here is an award for a person that started fire in the Philippine Twittersphere and united people around one thought. In 140 characters or less! The nominated #Thought-Movers are Lea Salonga of, Bianca Gonzales of, Tonyo Cruz of, Save Philippine Seas of and Vencer Crisostomo of

It is these inspiring people whose passion for creating visual art through original graphic design, animation and photography has caught fire in the local online art scene. Armed with rousing visuals, Tattoo sees The Artiste in Christian San Jose of, Aj Dimarucot of, Jin Joson of, Robbie Bautista of and Nina Sandejas of         

This award goes to a person or a group of individuals who worked to improve the state of a societal cause in the Philippines through social media. Tattoo recognizes The Advocate in finalists Elizabeth Angsioco of, Blog Watch of, Filipino Freethinkers of, Save Philippine Seas of and Nina Terol of

The Indie Rocker award is for the musical bands and indie artists who fought hard to claim their space in the hearts of the Filipino audience. They created, shared, and now they lead people’s hearts through original music. Sharing their very own music are JR Aquino of, Up Dharma Down of, Giniling Festival of, Johnoy Danao of and Paramita of
L-R; T-B: RX 93.1 radio DJ Chico Garcia; Rock Ed Philippines founder Gang Badoy; Author-In-Residence at the International Centre for Political Violence and Terrorism Research at the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Maria Ressa; Tech blogger supreme and Tattoo ambassador Rico Mossesgeld

It’s their unique style that placed them on the radar. They not only reviewed fashion, but also settrends that everyone followed. Tattoo recognizes the Stylisimo of the year nominees Laureen Uy of, Mich Dulce of, Rajo Laurel of, Divine Lee of and Tricia Gosingtian of

For the opinion that launched tons of comments or retweets, from the person with so much balls to make that legendary post in the first place. It is his/her powerful ideas that spread like a virus and took a life of its own. The Tatt Awards Ball Breakers are Lea Salonga, Noemi Lardizabal-Dado of, Faith Salazar of, Dean Jorge Bocobo of and Carlos Celdran of 

Informed, in tune and in check with the latest in tech, this person do not only present us with access to the latest in trends, but also the backstage of the fast pace world of e-knowledge. This year’s Tech Junkie nominees are Abe Olondres of, Sonnie Santos of, Carlo Ople of, Jayvee Fernandez of and Mark Macanas of

These nominees are ahead of the pack in terms of online popularity and content. As trendsetters, they have shaped opinions, moved people and ultimately blazed a trail in Philippine internet.  The nominees for The One are Noemi Lardizabal-Dado of, Abe Olondres of, Filipino Freethinkers of, Laureen Uy of and Lori Baltazar of

All nominees were determined through a set of criteria applied by the Tatt Council. They are made-up of  veteran journalist and now the Author-In-Residence at the International Centre for Political Violence and Terrorism Research at the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Maria Ressa, Rock Ed Philippines founder Gang Badoy,  prolific blogger and entrepreneur Cecile Zamora-Van Straten, tech blogger supreme and Tattoo ambassador Rico Mossesgeld, Director and Video Blogger Kring Elenzano, RX radio DJ Chico Garcia, President of the Internet and Mobile Marketing Association of the Philippines Hans Roxas-Chua,  and Tattoo Head of Nomadic Broadband Business Dong Ronquillo.

With partial scores already in from the Tatt Council, it’s time for the public’s voice to be heard. 10% of each nominee’s final score is based on the number of votes through public voting. This remaining 10% still plays a big part in determining the winners as the current scores from the judges remain close.

Voting was open to anyone in the social media space with a Facebook account as votes can only be entered upon logging into the Tatt Awards portal via their Facebook. Voting began last August 10, 12:00am till August 24, at 11:59pm.

Big winners will each receive 100,000 Pesos inclusive of cash and premium broadband products from Tattoo.

To know more about the Globe Tatt Awards, visit, Also follow @TattAwards on Twitter.

blog comments powered by Disqus